Letter to Congressional leadership was signed by 11 governors from Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Oklahoma, Mississippi, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas

“We are deeply concerned that Congress is considering legislation that gives union labor a competitive advantage over non-union labor in the electric vehicle market. We oppose this legislation that seeks to exclusively increase tax credits for electric vehicles built by U.S. factories where employees have a collective bargaining agreement. One proposal would provide as much as $4,500 more in tax credits for the purchase of vehicles produced by union labor. We cannot support any proposal that creates a discriminatory environment in our states by punishing autoworkers and car companies because the workers in their plants chose not to unionize. This legislation is not about supporting emerging technology but is instead a punitive attempt to side with labor unions at the cost of both American workers and consumers.”